kids clothes, saved by the bell

One Compact idea I have been practicing for a long time is buying used clothes.  Don’t get me wrong, I have spent more than my fair share at Banana Republic and Ann Taylor but a favorite sweater is from a consignment store from I don’t know when and where.  And when I was living in the Yukon Territory I picked up a pair of cowboy boots at the local thrift store that I wore for years.  (I won’t tell you about that adventure now, that would be serious digression, but perhaps one day when I’m feeling like spinning a tale I tell it to you.)

But especially when it comes to my kid’s clothes, if it weren’t for some fantabulous hand-me-overs (that’s when they’re from a friend not an older sibling!), consignment stores and a few gifts he would have very little to wear.  My favorite kids’ store is just around the corner too, totally convenient right?  So you can imagine how upset I was when all the buzz was going around that these stores were going to have to close.  If you don’t know what I’m talking about read the scoop on testing for all kids products, lead content, phthalates, etc. here in an article by the LA Times.  Thankfully though we have just found out that the government got smart and heard the appeals (will wonders never cease) and amended the law to omit re-sale stores from the requirement to test their products.  If you care, you can read about it straight from the CPSC here.

The new law requires that domestic manufacturers and importers certify that children’s products made after February 10 meet all the new safety standards and the lead ban. Sellers of used children’s products, such as thrift stores and consignment stores, are not required to certify that those products meet the new lead limits, phthalates standard or new toy standards.

If you care about your local mom & pop manufacturer or love to buy kids stuff from artists at the farmer’s market I urge you to look into this matter further though.  There are still many issues with the law as it currently stands pertaining to the manufacture of kids’ toys and clothes in general.

But yea for me, I’m off to see if I can find my boy some new old clothes!

Leave a Reply

