now what?

I broke a glass.  Not really a big deal right?  Unless you’re like me and are ubber-design conscious about every fork, dish and cup in your house.  I have a set of 12 matching all white dishes – plates, cups, saucers, the whole bit.  I have 12 glass dessert bowls to match.  I have 6 white soup tureens, matching egg cups and salt cellars.  It may be an obsession but I like things to match.  And I like white dishes with simple, clear glasses.  Like this:

a mid-size glass works for anything

a mid-size glass works for anything

So 20 days into my Compact I broke a glass.  Now I don’t know if I should replace it (buy new, search eBay for a $4.95 Crate&Barrel glass, buy one that doesn’t match – Uggh!) or have 5 matching glasses.  Even just saying that sounds wrong.  Five glasses.  Things like that come in even numbers.  It’s just the way it works.  I know I’m letting you in on my neurosis.  You can leave now if you like.  But before you do, can you tell me what I should do?

Also, before you go, I have to mention my visit to Recess.  What a treat!  If you’re in the LA area and want a great manicure or pedicure I highly recommend this chill, lovely space.  If you are green-minded like I am I can only recommend this place.  If you’re not in LA, love a good mani/pedi and are green-minded like I am maybe you should start your own Recess.  Just don’t forget who gets a discount for life, right?  And remember, DON’T THROW AWAY YOUR OLD NAIL POLISH, IT’S TOXIC!  RECYCLE!!

Now you can go.

3 Comments to “now what?”

  1. Try some deep breath meditation 😉
    I love that you have this wee bit of OCD going on. But my suggestion, to save you days of angst, is to find a replacement glass of the type you broke on EBay or craigslist or Overstock… I have complete faith that by the end of the day you will have found the exact make and model of the shattered piece, and the world order will return.
    Do be sure to report what happens!

  2. Hi Leigh,
    First of all I want to say that I love your experiment and would love to try and do the same….However, it is hard with 2 girls who want everything…( and who already have been exposed to the TV!) but I guess we can try, we’ll take baby steps and see what happens….
    About the broken glass, I say and I should take my own advice MORE OFTEN but here it is, “Don’t sweat the small stuff.” You still have 5, and I am a lot like you, probably have OCD, but was never diagnosed! So I get how you are feeling that odd #, it is hard, but I say wait until a few more break (b/c it will happen, esp. being pregnant and clumsy- I was terrible!) and then get a whole set used on e bay or craigslist or you favorite consignment shop. Just my 2 cents.

  3. Thanks emma and Karen for your suggestions. I think I will just wait a bit and see what happens. If I look at this as an opportunity to possibly do more shopping in the future I guess it’s not so bad!

Leave a Reply

