fun and frugal – what more could you want?

Arctic Circle by Alex Hallatt

Arctic Circle by Alex Hallatt

♦ ♦ ♦

And if that’s not enough for all of you, my favored readers I give you this…

lat-thriftyMan, what a bargain

Typically I will refrain from simply posting links to other stories but I just thought this was too good to pass up.  It actually came to me from my husband.  He might be a little unsure about which bag a particular item of trash get’s recycled into but he is always thinking of you, dear readers.  Or thinking of my thinking of you.  Whichever is the culprit he passes this nugget on and so I give it to you.

A reporter for the Los Angeles Times wrote an article for the Business section about thrift stores.  And this is not the article you might think.  It is not about how well thrift stores are doing in this time of recession and spend-thrift.  Or about how thrift stores are lacking for goods as people are hanging onto their stuff longer instead of replacing everything at break-neck speed.  Both of these may be true, I don’t know, I haven’t done any studies.  Or asked anyone for that matter.  (Digression, I know, I know.)  This great article is about how this particular newsman gets his fabulous, high end, designer wardrobe from thrift stores!  And if you live in the Los Angeles area he even names names!  It makes me want to run out just to see what I can find.

Hey, maybe I can find a Chanel suit and that elusive potato masher!  What’s the best thing you’ve found at a thrifty?

2 Comments to “fun and frugal – what more could you want?”

  1. If you have the patience to weed through the non-Chanel suits to find the Chanel, I very much look forward to your triumphant post!

  2. Emma, I hate shopping for clothes – full price or otherwise – but I do love a challenge, so we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

