one less exception

For those of you really paying attention you’ll remember a while back I added a few new exceptions to my list of acceptable items to buy new.  I was very quickly able to scratch one off as I found my much desired salad spinner at the thrift store.

Well, I’m happy to announce that I will be marking through another item that did not get purchased new.  It wasn’t even purchased used.  I was “gifted” my mother’s unused potato masher.  At least it’s been unused in the last 10 years.  It’s probably as old as I am so it might have been used somewhere in there.  But it’s here with me now and I bought potatoes at the farmer’s market yesterday so watch out.

I probably won’t be posting about my potato mashing experience but just know it is in the near future.  I’m so giddy I could sing.  But that’s not allowed in this house.

3 Comments to “one less exception”

  1. My potato masher is my second-favorite kitchen gadget. My husband is a huge fan of mashed potatoes and they are so much better hand mashed. I don’t know why. My favorite kitchen gadget is an incredible “zester” that a friend gave me- it has made any recipe that requires orange zest so much fun. No singing in the house- you’re joking, right?

  2. I love, love, love mashed potatoes. Please make some to share!

    Congrats on the new addition to your kitchen!

  3. Angela, I’ve thought about a zester but never saw the great need. You’re making me reconsider. And it’s not that singing is not allowed, just MY singing! As my brother told our mother when he was a toddler, “Mommy, your sing is broke.” It’s hereditary.

    emmajames, I will work on some recipes to share!

Leave a Reply

