the ouch factor

remington

I just bought an electric razor.  Yes, it was Compact approved.  (Thrift store razor – eewww!)    I was in need of both shave cream and razor blades – which can get pretty dang spendy, those little slice and dice suckers.  I had read a comment by a woman who bought an electric to save on the continuous purchase of the blades.  One rechargable razor should last quite a while, at least as long as a couple packs of those refill blades.  (And my legs are worth the more expensive brand.  They are.  Trust me.)  Makes sense, right?  Or so I thought. 

I am now debating whether to take advantage of the 30 day money-back guarantee.  I love that I don’t have to worry about nicks but I’m not sure I’m up for the learning curve.  I’ve been shaving my legs with a razor for over 20 years, maybe it’s too late for a new trick.  (I can pat my head and rub my belly but can I go from long, straight strokes to a small, circular motion?  I just don’t know.)  And apparently, when the instructions say “not recommended for under-arms”, they really mean it.  Ouch!  That’s just not going to work.  So if I still need another razor for the under-arms where’s the savings?  Am I wrong?  Do I just need more practice?  Ladies, yea or nay on the electric?

And for the guys who’ve kept with me through the salad spinners and the potato mashers, I apologize.  I will talk about garbage or something tomorrow.  I promise.

3 Comments to “the ouch factor”

  1. Go back to old school. That’s my vote.

  2. Two razors seems like madness to me (but as a 6ft tall woman I have been in a heated battle with razors for years). My question would be, would you have to travel with two?

  3. emmajames, done!

    Boncompanion, Two razors for daily work is madness. But I will admit I have a travel razor. It’s one of those razor and shave “cream” combos so I only have to pack that and not a razor and can of gel. It never leaves my travel bag so I never forget to take it. Also a bonus!

Leave a Reply

