random thoughts

I’ll start with the bad news.  We’re going to Ikea.

I am desperate for storage bins for all the clothes Toddler L has outgrown (that we can’t get rid of as Baby X will be needing them shortly), and the clothes he hasn’t yet grown into.

As well as the clothes I have outgrown.  Luckily I don’t have clothes I haven’t grown into yet.  My closet is family storage/catch-all/throw-it-in-there, so I don’t have room for not currently needed work clothes, pre-preggers clothes and maternity clothes.  In this small apartment of ours we just don’t have the storage space for everything.  More than likely the bins will end up on the back porch so cardboard just won’t cut it.

Not that I feel a need to explain myself to you.  No, that’s not it at all.  It’s not that I feel guilty.  Nope, not me.  Okay, very guilty.  But I need organization or I will lose what little of my sanity I still have.

felix

So now that that’s off my chest, moving on.

I made soup today to use up some veggies that were getting a little limp.  I made a really big batch.  Unfortunately, I only seasoned it for a small batch.  Our lunch was very bland.  But I flavored it up a bunch before putting the leftovers in the fridge.  Tomorrow’s lunch should be much better.  Feeling good about that.

felix1

I spent way too many hours today looking at food posts for ideas on everyday dinners.  I think I’m going to do what I thought everyone else was crazy for doing.  I’m putting together a list of meals and will be choosing the weekly menu from it.  Kind of obvious to many of you, I know.  But I was never a good grocery shopper and having the ingredients on hand was never something I did well.  Somehow I didn’t grasp that the planning was the key to having the ingredients on hand.  Oh, well.  Better late than never.

Plus, I’m not really good at deciding what I want for dinner on Wednesday when I’m not even sure what I want to be doing an hour from now.  Again, I guess I missed the point.  If I know I’m having duck a l’orange with tri colore salad on Wednesday then I will be really wanting it by then.  Or so I tell myself.  Do you menu plan?  Is this a problem for you?  Did you really think I would be making duck a l’orange?  If you don’t know me and think that, you’re wonderful.  And deluded.  If you know me and think that, you’re just deluded.

felix1

I want to start baking bread.  Easy bread.  Not the kind that I have to wait 3 days before I can bake.  Not recipes that make 8 loaves because they’re for the Ingalls family.  Nothing that requires a great amount of kneading.  I have about 2 linear feet of counter space to work with.  And I don’t have the Kitchenaid stand mixer that I covet.  I should have started this pet project back when I could run to Crate and Barrel for every kitchen gadget I hankered for.  And yes, I know bread was made long before the Kitchenaid stand mixer was invented.  But they are the best.  Everybody says so.  And I want one.  My bread would rise better.  It would be the perfect golden color.  It would taste like it came straight from a woodfire oven in Italy.  It would make my child eat broccoli.  Okay, okay.  I know.  But I still want one.

felix1

We’re also headed to Las Vegas this week for my husband’s annual March Madness trip.  Luckily my in-laws moved there two years ago so it’s considered a family trip now.  Not only do we get at least one night of free babysitting but said husband is very excited to check out the numerous Value Village thrift stores in the city.  I think I’ve created a monster.  He’s more excited to go shopping than I am.  And I’m the girl.

Well, I guess that’s about enough randomness for one day.  Thanks for listening.  I feel better.  This free therapy blogging is really good to clear the headspace.  Feel free to criticize comment below.

3 Comments to “random thoughts”

  1. I also want to bake bread regularly, and easily. My new favorite book is Artisan Bread on 5 Minutes at Day. And it is really easy. So easy, I sometimes sound like an infomercial! Highly recommend the book if you want to make easy bread every day. And I bet your library would have it, or could get it for you.

    And, I don’t think Ikea is a bad thing. Think of all the saving you are doing by not buying new clothes for Baby. That is good.

  2. Freshly baked bread is better than chocolate.

    Brava for braving IKEA. If I didn’t find great stuff there, I’d never be able to suffer the crowds.

  3. Gudrun, thanks for the encouragement and I will be sure to check for that book at the library.

    emma, I hate to say it but hard times have hit even Ikea. It was amazingly quiet for early evening mid week. And it was incredibly difficult for me. I practically had to run through the store so as not to look at any of the great stuff I wouldn’t be buying. Now back to regularly scheduled avoidance.

Leave a Reply

