monday – menus and more

from-the-kitchen1

The second week home after a vacation or even a three day weekend is when everything starts to feel normal again.  I’m starting to feel normal.  I’m trying to build up my routines.

Boy #2 is due the end of June.  I have about 9 weeks of routine before all hell breaks loose again.  But in the meantime I’m making my lists, checking them twice…oh, wait, that’s another story.  Back to my story.  Grocery list, check.  grocery shopping, check.  Menu plan, check.

Let’s see what we’ll be eating…

Sunday:  leftovers

Monday:  chicken breasts, mashed cauliflower (I love this dish, it’s like mashed potatoes but healthier)

Tuesday:  boneless pork sirloin chops, sautéed carrots

Wednesday:  pancakes

Thursday:  WOHO (wife on her own)

Friday:  pulled chicken sandwiches, green beans

Saturday:  tuna pasta (not sure if this is going to be traditional with cream of mushroom soup or something lighter with flaked tuna, oil and some veg.  I guess it depends on the weather that day.)

felix

Our budget was $80, we spent…

Sprouts Farmers Market – $9.09 (this was all of our produce [minus the bananas] and eggs for the week, amazed even me.)

Vons – $24.96

Trader Joe’s – $10.95 (I can’t believe how little I shop here now, I still don’t want to live without a TJ’s nearby but they used to be my go-to for almost everything.)

Walgreens – $22.41

Target – $7.86 (no food but household items that I consider part of the budget)

99¢ Store – $2.00 (potatoes AND bananas!)

Lots of stops this week but with a final total of $77.27 I think it worked out to shop around for the deals.  All of these stores are within a couple miles and typically on our way home from some other outing.

felix

I came across this picture essay from Time.com about the foods and budgets of families around the globe.  Although it’s quite old it’s definitely worth checking out.  Can you guess which is the American family?

eats-1

eats-2

eats-3

4 Comments to “monday – menus and more”

  1. The Time photo essay is fascinating! Thanks for posting. It really scares me what that family in North Carolina is eating! Oh- but you put up three photos and none of those are an American family.

  2. Angela, glad you enjoyed the essay. The American family was a bit of a trick question. Sometimes we seem so much like other cultures and then sometimes we really play up or worst features.

  3. Hey Calimama-
    What do you put in mashed cauliflower? that sounds good. My husband and I both love cauliflower, but I usually have half a head left over every time I make it.

  4. Angela, mashed cauliflower is so easy and the #1 reason I wanted a Braun
    hand blender! It is so easy, just boil/steam it until soft, drain, add a
    bit of butter, salt & pepper and mash until smooth. My husband and I ate an
    entire head the other night with chicken breasts. It covers the bases for
    both veg & starch!

Leave a Reply

