friday forum

I am officially taking up The Frugal Girl‘s challenge to display my wasted food.  Last week I posted about some food waste issues and patted myself on the back for not really having any waste.

That was dumb.

It’s pretty much a given that as soon as I commit such unabashed narcissism I will have to wipe the smirk off my face.

This should do it…

090507

The bread was a piece of crust I intended to make bread crumbs with.  Too bad I didn’t get to it when I intended.  Now it’s waste.  It really irks me this happened, and I have to live with that.

In the bag are three frozen chicken strips.  If they’re frozen why are they waste, you ask?  Well, let me tell you.  Because I’m an idiot.  Or at least a sleep deprived, brain-malfunctioning, less-than-perfect human being.  On Tuesday, I set them on a tray in the freezer to freeze individually.  The intent was to leave them about an hour and bag them.  Again with the dang intentions.  I found them while looking for lunch on Thursday.  Completely freezer-burned.

Unlike the bread, I haven’t actually thrown them away yet in case somebody has a good use for freezer-burned chicken.  Any help here?  I’m kinda draggin’ cuz I’m not even done.

What didn’t make it into the picture was about a 1/2 cup of heavy cream.  In my sleep deprived, brain-malfunctioning, less-than-perfect state I considered the cream perfectly good until the stamped date of May 26th.  Unfortunately, I forgot that having been opened about 2 weeks ago that date means nothing.

So there you have it.  I am a food waster.  This was a bad week.  Here’s to hoping that the public humiliation has some purpose and next week is better.

felix

On a completely different note.  Still food related.  But pretty much the opposite of waste.

This is the pantry I want if I’m ever stuck with no outside access for weeks…

pantry #65

The Perfect Pantry takes a look at Other People’s Pantries every Saturday.  This week’s photo (not pictured above) is of a pantry converted bedroom.  The thought boggles my mind as I prepare to tackle our measly kitchen cabinets tomorrow to make way for this week’s groceries and stock piles.  (Stock piles meaning I might have two of something.)

The only thing I ogled more was a recent look at Martha Stewart’s prop closet.

MS props1

Some closet MS.

One Comment to “friday forum”

  1. Ohh, the public humiliation is just THE BEST motivation for me. Nothing quite like it. lol

    Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

