friday forum

Another week with nothing to throw away.  I have to admit, I feel like I’m doing something wrong.  I mean really, if Kristen at The Frugal Girl (she’s the reason I tell you this each week) has waste how can I not?

I must not be cooking properly.  Or it’s because I don’t use fresh herbs.  They intimidate me.

I have a 2″ square of tofu that will be up next week if I don’t think of something to do with it fast.  Maybe an egg and tofu scramble this weekend could save me on that one.

I was also saved of some previously claimed waste.  That’s right, I’m reclaiming my waste.

090507

ignore the moldy bread, it's the freezer burned chicken in the bag

The chicken in this photo is no longer waste.  Thanks to the great recommendations by Jonathan Bloom’s readers over at Wasted Food I will be using it for some soup in the near future.  Check out his post about my near wasted food and you will see what else I won’t be throwing away.  If you have something in the fridge or cupboard that you just don’t know what to do with, tell Jonathan.  He’s sharing our sad stories on his blog to help end the wasted food franchise.

Maybe between Jonathan and Kristen we will have to find something else to talk about on Fridays.

felix

Oh wait, I have something else to talk about.

waste

I was recently directed to check out Zero Waste Alliance.  Their thinking behind waste may be considered inovative by some, nothing new by others, and quite genius by me.

Waste is a resource in disguise.  It represents a failure of our processes and products and a loss of money.  We recommend that the entire concept of waste should be eliminated from our thinking and the word resource be substituted.

If only we could teach everyone to think of the object they hold in their hand when they think they are done with a product as a resource ready to be turned into something else instead of something to be gotten rid of by the quickest means possible.  (I know some of you already think this way [okay maybe not the run-on sentence part, or the parenthesis inside parenthesis part], this is directed at the people who will probably never read this blog unless they come across it while doing a search on Eddie Vedder and Twitter.  Hey, it happens.)

Zero Waste Alliance is doing just that.  In fact,

  • Interface, Inc. in Atlanta, Georgia has eliminated over $165M in waste.
  • Xerox Corp., Rochester, New York has had a Waste-Free Factory environmental performance goal since the early 1990’s. The criteria include reductions in solid and hazardous waste, emissions, energy consumption and increase recycling. This program resulted in a savings of $45M in 1998.
  • Hewlett Packard in Roseville, California reduced its waste by 95% and saved $870,564 in 1998.
  • Epson in Portland, Oregon has reduced its waste to zero and has saved $300,000.

How cool is that?

felix

Another cool thing that’s really taking off.  Have you noticed all the press The Story of Stuff has been getting recently?  Not only did The Huffington Post and NPR each do pieces this month but it made the front page of the New York Times.  (Actually, the HP and NPR pieces followed the release of the NYT story, but press is press right?)  If you’re not one of the 6 million that have seen this 20 minute look at all the stuff in our lives, you really must check it out.

3 Comments to “friday forum”

  1. Yeah, I saw the post over at Wasted Food. Very cool.

    Tofu is great in scrambled eggs. I remember getting that tip from a mom with a vegetarian son who was looking for ways to add protein to his diet.

    And one of our staples is tofu/spinach saute. Saute 1/2″ slices of tofu with olive oil and garlic, then add spinach on one side of the pan or in another pan (cover with lid to wilt spinach). Sprinkle with soy sauce and hot chili oil. My husband and I both love it, and it’s super quick and easy.

  2. lol Maybe you’re just better at this than I am. I have had a fair number of zero-waste weeks, but I usually do have a little something.

    That’s not as good as nothing, but it’s a far cry from the piles of food I used to throw out each month(because I usually only cleaned out my fridge that often!).

    I’m a slow study, though…it took me like 6 months of trying go actually get a week without any waste. :p

  3. Kristen, I’m sure I’m not any better than you, I just don’t have as much food at any one time feeding only two adults and one small child. Hopefully I will have the lessons well learned by the time the family is older and bigger!

    And being a major anti-pack rat probably keeps me culling through the fridge stuff as often as the other areas of our house. Nothing stays around here too long!

Leave a Reply

