friday forum

I have a confession.  I was holding out on you.  It wasn’t intentional.  But apparently I had some food waste back in one of those weeks I was claiming to be so great and resourceful and all consuming of food.

Last week when I was downloaded what I though were pictures of Toddler L off the camera I came across a picture of these strawberries.

IMG_6204

I’m sorry to say it actually took me a moment to remember what the heck it all meant.  This all happened the Saturday before Mother’s Day.  On that Sunday I found out a friend had passed away.  It was not a good week.  (Remember the empty menu plan?)  So by Friday, I had no recollection of what had happened the previous Saturday.

Now I remember.

We bought these strawberries Thursday evening, come Saturday morning they looked like this.  Boy was I miffed.  Actually, I was a lot more than miffed, but Toddler L and Baby X were listening.  (Yes, I know Baby X is still cooking but I”m practicing and imagining he can hear everything I say.)  I try to keep my fruit on the counter instead of in the fridge because it typically tastes better.  Big mistake.  I have had strawberries since this debacle that went straight into the fridge until every last one was gobbled up.

This batch went straight into the garbage.

Yes, I know that in itself is a waste.  40% of what’s in the landfills could be composted.  But not by me.  Not for lack of desire.  More like lack of opportunity.  No compost, no garden, no green bins.  For now I take solice in the knowledge that I put that pesky plastic container in the recycling bag.

As for waste this week, I go back to having nothing to show.  (I’m not even smiling as I write that as I may be completely out of it and not even know.  I’d hate to be smug only to have another strawberry incident.)  I think I do a pretty good job of making a “use it up” lunch whenever there is something on the edge.  I guess that’s what has saved me so far.

felix

For those of you not managing quite as well with the food waste issue, here’s a little something that might just help.

This spring, The Kitchn (a division of Apartment Therapy) held their second annual Kitchen Cure.

This is a series of posts, reader interaction, and assignments designed to help get your kitchen in shape. The goal, in six fast weeks, is for your kitchen to be clean, healthy and organized, and your cooking more nourishing and delicious than ever.

One of their great ideas was this grocery reminder.  Post this on the fridge and you have no excuse to not know what’s inside.

eat this

If that doesn’t help you out, how about their list of What To Do With…?  75 Tips for Leftovers and Ingredients.  This is definitely one list I will be checking twice (weekly).  There are some great ideas for foods from all over the kitchen.  A personal favorite though was the ideas for Inedible Failed Dishes.  One commenter made a suggestion I think will become a family tradition of our own.

Growing up, on the rare occasions my mom completely failed in the kitchen, it was traditional to order pizza. Even if there were leftovers around, a kitchen disaster meant mom had a glass of wine or a gin and tonic while dad dialed. A family tradition I have adopted and will pass on to my daughter.

felix

For those of you that have seen the inside of my fridge, there’s a new addition.

I finally succumbed to the pull of bread in the oven.  I’m still not ready for kneading though.  I made a batch of dough considered the Master Recipe from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day.  Four ingredients?  It must have cost a whole $1.00 for everything.  And the dough should make about four 1 pound loaves.  How about master frugal recipe.  As I don’t have a pizza stone or peel (don’t worry that will be remedied as soon as I can), tomorrow I will be making a loaf in my dutch oven.  Yep, the dutch oven, in the oven.  I’m already considering what else I can use to get some different shaped loaves.  A new use for that too-big-to-cook-in Corning Ware dish.

And yes, it was about 5 minutes of work today.  Let’s see if tomorrow goes as smoothly.  I can’t tell you how excited I am.  Really.

I love my bread machine, but this is what bread should look like.

artisan bread

If my in-laws don’t walk in the door and swoon over my fresh-from-the-oven bread I’m immediately sending them to a hotel.

Just kidding.  They can stay.

I’ll go to a hotel.

2 Comments to “friday forum”

  1. Thanks for the links.

    I broke down last month and checked out Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day and now I am hooked!

  2. Oh, that bread looks delicious. You just might inspire me to bake a loaf.

Leave a Reply

