monday – menus and more

from-the-kitchen1

I’m really looking forward to this week.  I don’t know why.  Maybe something unexpected will happen.  Or not.  But I think it will be a good week.

Let’s see what we’ll be eating…

Monday:  spaghetti and meatballs, salad, artisan bread

Tuesday:  we’ll be eating out with friends

Wednesday:  open face sloppy joes, corn on the cob

Thursday:  whole wheat pancakes (thanks to The Frugal Girl for the recipe)

Friday:  pizza

Saturday:  brown rice salad with tuna

Sunday:  chuck roast, veg to be determined by sales flyers

I bought a head of romaine lettuce and haven’t touched it yet.  I’m expecting salad for lunch several days this week.  And lots of bread!  I just made my second loaf of Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, WOW!  It’s so good I can’t wait for dinner to eat more.  I imagine making at least one more loaf this week.  And I also feel like as good as it is, I have a lot of room for improvement.  I can hardly imagine how good it’s going to be.

I’m not getting paid to say this…”try this bread, it will change your dining.”  I am thinking about menus based on what can be served with bread.

felix

More over budget.  No excuses.  Let’s just see the damage.

Our budget was $80, we spent…

Sprouts Farmers Market – $52.18 (savings = $0.15)

Vons – $7.68

Trader Joe’s – $22.68

Target – $16.15 (savings = $5.00)

Bakery Outlet – $8.47

A grand total of $107.16.  We had house guests.  The husband went to the store.  There were some deals too good to pass up.  Blah, blah, blah.  I have to get this under control.  I don’t like setting guidelines and then continuously not meet them.  It’s a pride thing.  I’m full of pride don’t you know.

felix

My mother-in-law was kind enough to make 4 dozen of her oatmeal chocolate cookies on Friday night for us to sell at a local Relay for Life event on Saturday.  Apparently they sold very well, even with an entire table of baked goods by the local women’s group.  I’m not surprised though, they are amazingly good.

I hope to have that recipe up for you later today.  Look for it.  Especially if your husband doesn’t cook but says he will bake.  It’s the best treat ever.

I think I’ll go have one.  (Okay, so not all 4 dozen made it to the Relay.  They weren’t counting.)

One Comment to “monday – menus and more”

  1. Yeah, I constantly go over budget too. What I’ve done is take out the money in cash. That’s all I’m allowed to use. Once it’s gone, it’s gone. I’m hoping that this way, since I SEE exactly how much I have, I’ll be more careful with it. It’s too easy to just write a check or use my debit card and not keep track of it.

    This is the first time I’ve tried this, so fingers crossed that it works.

Leave a Reply

