friday forum

No picture.  You’d think that means I didn’t have any food waste.

But you’d be wrong.

All having no picture means is that I didn’t get one of the food the husband pointed out smelled a little (okay, a lot) funny before it got tossed.  Good thing he noticed before he gave it to Toddler L.  I can’t say I would have.  I’ve been a little preoccupied.  But I’ll get to that later.

Where was I?  Oh, yeah…  Food waste.  What was it?  Pasta.  Plain, boring, no sauce pasta.  I had made a batch last week for Toddler L.  It’s one of the few things he will almost always eat.  Right out of the fridge.  Cold.  Dry.  Takes after his father.

Unfortunately, Toddler L wasn’t feeling much like pasta this past week.  I could have used it for an adult meal but I kept holding onto it thinking it was for the kid.

Now it’s for the dump.

Not a lot of dollars down the drain on this one but still unfortunate all the same.  Mostly because it was one of those interestingly shaped pastas that hold the sauce so nicely.  Oh, well.  The good news is that Toddler L wasn’t eating pasta because he was eating my homemade pizza.  That means he ate a vegetable.  Ha!  And he didn’t even know it.  I’ll tell him when he’s twelve.

felix

So what has me so preoccupied that I don’t even know I have bad food in the fridge or what my son is eating?

IMG_6542

Pretty exciting huh?

That’s one of the “thank you” bags I made for the labor and delivery nurses that will be in my life sometime in the very near future.  We had such great nurses with Toddler L and I think it’s in part due to the goodies we handed over on our arrival.  No, not really.  They were great, but just because they were.  This is just our way of acknowledging it.

The bags toppers were made on the computer, printed on paper and stapled to the clear bags.  I did the labels the same way but printed them onto label paper we had in the closet. The husband made some of his awesome oatmeal chocolate chip cookies (they’re sitting in the freezer waiting for the moment we head out), they will go in the smaller white bags.  Everything goes in the big white bags and off we go.  Like Little Red Robin Hood with her basket of goodies.

I’ve been creative.  I’m happy.

5 Comments to “friday forum”

  1. I am so impressed by your creativity. These are amazing and I am sure they will be greatly appreciated.

  2. They look so inviting! I am inspired to make some too!

  3. What a thoughtful idea! I will be spending some qulity time with medical professionals in the near (I don’t get a baby out of it though) and I might just copy your brilliant idea. This is the first food wastepost that has inspired me to get creative. 🙂

  4. Oh, that is just the best. I love the detail of the label.

  5. Thank you all for your compliments! I think taking a great idea and personalizing it (even if it does involve some work and creativity) makes it really worth doing. I had a lot of fun putting these together and time spent being creative is time well spent for me.

Leave a Reply

