friday forum

090724

As Toddler L would say “yu-cky…garbage…yu-cky”.  And unfortunately, that’s what all this food was.  I knew it was coming.  I’ve been saying it for weeks.  The onions were just waiting to get noticed.  The avocado, well that was just unfortunate.  I bought two because the husband is a big fan.  I like them, but not enough to remember that I have to do something with them.  This was my pudding.  It proofed.  And the bread, well that was croutons that didn’t happen.  I was able to cut off about a third of the peach and eat the rest.  Which is good considering it was quite large, organic and cost $1.50 at the farmer’s market.  Not a good week but at least I made sure all the chocolate chip cookies got eaten before they went stale.

Why does it matter if I throw away a couple of onions and a scrap of bread?  Well, as Jonathan Bloom of Wasted Food put it:

Americans waste more than 40 percent of the food we produce for consumption. That comes at an annual cost of more than $100 billion. At the same time, food prices and the number of Americans without enough to eat continues to rise.

Will the food I throw out in my kitchen have any bearing on whether someone else has anything to eat?  No.  But by being aware of what food I waste hopefully I will also consider the waste that is happening at a grander scale.  And if my talking about it makes someone else aware then double chocolate chips for everyone.

And be sure to thank The Frugal Girl for challenging her readers to expose their dirty laundry moldy food.  All in the name of sharing eyeballs, I write for public humiliation and blogroll status.  I’m all about status.

2 Comments to “friday forum”

  1. I love your thoughts on this. I think it’s really important to stop and gain awareness about what we are doing.

    Sorry to hear about the waste; I can really sense your disappointment Leigh, but with your awareness you’re going to make great changes!

    Well done 🙂

  2. Glad you didn’t let the cookies go uneaten. That might have been the first cookie waste on record!

    For what it’s worth, through a series of mishaps, I also let a nice farmer’s market peach go for naught this week.

    Keep spreading the good word…and keeping your waste down.

Leave a Reply

