the ultimate basic oatmeal chocolate chip cookie

There is just something so right about a cookie that blends the ultimate sweet – chocolate – with the ultimate healthy – oatmeal.   Okay, that may not be the ultimate healthy but it’s definitely leaning that direction.  I’m not really big on moderation, so a cookie that is so sweet I can eat just one is wasted on me.  And although oatmeal raisin cookies are a favorite, they can leave me feeling like my sweet tooth has not been satisfied.

These are my all-time favorite cookies.  And considering I’ve only been eating them for about two years that’s saying something.  The fact that the husband makes them has nothing to do with them being my favorite.  It does have something to do with him being my favorite though.  But I think he knows that.  The recipe originally came from my MIL so the husband is well familiar with this cookie.  So why haven’t I been eating them longer than two years?  That’s a good question.  I guess his desire to bake wasn’t as developed during the first several years of our relationship.  I’m glad he’s made amends with that part of himself.  I love the fact that the husband makes these so much that I actually offer them up to friends for fundraising events and such just so he has to make them.  And they’re darn good.  But I think I mentioned that.

Come on, let’s make some cookies.  You know you want to.  (Printable recipe at the end.)

.

IMG_6378

IMPORTANT NOTE: the picture does not reflect the ingredients list - we were making a half batch this day

The lovely ingredients for today’s adventure:  flour, baking soda, salt, butter, brown sugar, sugar, eggs, walnuts (optional – I’m a no nuts kinda cookie girl), milk, vanilla extract, rolled oats, chocolate chips.

.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Set your oven rack to the 3/4 high position.  Or somewhere about the second from the top position.

.

IMG_6379

In a small bowl combine 1 1/3 cups flour, 1 teaspoon baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.  You could use just a pinch of salt but the husband is very accurate in his baking and insists on an even measure.

.

IMG_6380

This mixing bowl set has small, medium and large bowls, we use the largest bowl for this step.  You could use something smaller, this just works for us.  (I use the term us very loosely, you can see the husband’s hands doing the actual mixing, I’m just the gal taking pictures and sharing the story.)  Into the large bowl goes 2 sticks of softened butter, 1 1/4 cups of packed brown sugar and 1/2 cup granulated sugar.

.

IMG_6384

Beat this together until mixed but not overly so, more beating to come.

.

IMG_6389

Set the beater to the side and crack in 2 eggs.  (I like to do this one handed – it’s an old trick I love to show off, but this is husband’s cooking so crack, split, whatever, just be sure to dig out the broken shell bits.)  Then add 2 tablespoons milk and 2 teaspoons vanilla extract.  I insist of the real deal, no imitation or I won’t guarantee these to be the best cookies ever.  This is non-negotiable.  Not really, but I’d like to think you care enough for the very best.

.

IMG_6390

Now beat all of this together.

.

IMG_6392

Take your small bowl of flour mixture and add it to the butter, sugar, egg, milk mixture in 1/2 cup portions.  Or whatever works for you, just don’t dump it all in at once.  Mix well after each addition but don’t beat the heck out of it or the flour will defy you and I won’t guarantee these to be the worlds best cookies.

.

IMG_6393

Now you’re done with the mixer, feel free to lick the blades, husband always does.

.

IMG_6397

Gently stir in 2 1/2 cups uncooked oats, 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 cup coarsely chopped nuts.  (If nuts are your thing.  I don’t recommend it because I don’t think those are the worlds best cookies.  But it’s really up to you.)  (And let’s pretend the blurry picture is because husband is stirring so darn fast and not that I was shaking the camera or anything like that.)

.

IMG_6400

Using two spoons (or one tablespoon and your finger, or one cookie scoop) drop rounded tablespoons of dough onto an ungreased baking sheet.

.

IMG_6402

Place the cookie sheet in the preheated 375 degree oven.  If you’re like me and want perfect cookies that are neither too chewy or too crispy bake for 9 minutes.  But that’s in our oven.  Yours may be different and require some testing.  General guidelines though would be 9-10 minutes for chewy and 12-13 minutes for crispy.

.

IMG_6404

This is what the cookies look like straight out of the oven.

.

IMG_6408

Let them stand for one minute and then using a very thin spatula remove them to a rack to cool.  This is the most difficult part.  Not eating them immediately.

.

IMG_6413

If you’re only using one cookie sheet like we do, let it sit for 5 minutes to cool then repeat the drop, bake and wait process several more times.

This should yield about 4 dozen cookies.  It depends on your spoons.

Store the cookies in an airtight container and see if you can keep them around long enough to even hint at getting stale.  Ours last about 3 days.  I do usually freeze (or give away) half the batch immediately otherwise I would have to worry about our chocolate intake.

.

Click the link for a sweet (and photo free) recipe card to print.  PRINTABLE COOKIE RECIPE

2 Responses to “the ultimate basic oatmeal chocolate chip cookie”

  1. Thanks Leigh- I can’t wait to try these. They sound absolutely delicious.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

