much ado

winner

There is so much going on I don’t know where to start.  I took a few days off as the family was traveling and my oh so perfect schedule was thrown into chaos.  Okay, I don’t have a perfect schedule.  But I do have chaos.

(I haven’t digressed in a while, so here goes…  The husband put on one of my favorite albums as we sat down to our computers tonight.  I’m slightly distracted because it is so soothing and I greatly enjoy it.  I also greatly enjoy a husband who loves music completely yet plays an album he doesn’t love because his wife does.  Was that enough digression?)

Back to your regularly scheduled meanderings.  To start off on a high note, I won an award while on vacation.  (Can you be on vacation if you don’t have paid employment?)  It may come as a surprise to those of you who don’t know me, but I can’t remember the last time I won an award.  It might have been that 5th grade science fair.  I won a trophy a few years back, but that was for gambling so I don’t think it counts.

This time, I’m truly honored.  Angela, from My Year Without Spending, gave me a Superior Scribbler Award!  Thanks Angela.  What started out as an idea no more well thought out than the one to join the Compact has really changed my days.  (And if that sentence doesn’t just emanate Superior Scribbler I don’t know what does.)

The first Superior Scribbler was an accomplished journalist/blogger/teacher.  In her wisdom, that Scribe passed along her appreciation for other scribblers.  And so on, and so on, and so on…  Almost two years and 800 recipients later is little ol’ me.  This blog has become a part of my daily life in so many ways.  Beyond the enjoyment I receive just from writing, I have come across some amazing people and ideas that have enriched my thinking about living within our means and how to give the most to my family while still keeping something for myself.  If I can pass that along then I truly feel accomplished.

As with any award, there are a few hoops to jump through.  Here are the Superior Scribblers’…

1.  Each Superior Scribbler must in turn pass the award on to 5 most-deserving bloggy friends.

2.  Each Superior Scribbler must link to the author and the name of the blog from whom he/she has received The Award.

3.  Each Superior Scribbler must display The Award on his/her blog, and link to this post, which explains The Award.

4.  Each blogger who wins the Superior Scribbler Award must visit this post and add his/her name to the Mr. Linky list. That way, we’ll be able to keep up-to-date on everyone who wins This Prestigious Honor.

5.  Each Superior Scribbler must post these rules on his/her blog.

To fulfill rule #1, I give you my five (in no particular order)…

acme eclectic – it’s not girly/frugal/design/food/green/parenting or anything else you might think I would read, but it’s great writing and it makes me sound well read when in conversation with the husband.  Check it out, you might be surprised.

Good Pens – I like a good obsession.  I also like pens.  I don’t obsess about them, but the Good Pens Junkie does.  If you know how to retrofit a vintage ballpoint with a $2 Bic insert (or you’d like to), this blog is for you.

Pleasure Notes – through some pretty serious ups and downs Emma has blogged about life.  Specifically her life, with some great randomness thrown in.  I especially love the weekly flowers she brings into her (and at least digitally my) home.

Dispatches from Utopia – I found this blog via another project she has, Eating Well on $50 a Week, which I found out about from my father-in-law.  Cari is truly a kindred spirit.  She lives in the city I hope to one day call home.  She feeds her family well by cooking her own food and she has a sense of humor.  Sounds just like me right?  Okay, so she might actually be a writer with training and skill but other than that I’m sure we have a lot in common.  Check her out.

Creature Comforts – I couldn’t not give props to a design blog.  As you know, I’m a design junkie.  I love a good design idea.  I love a good design download.  And whoa, a design freebie?  You’ve got my number.  Creature Comforts has all that and more.

. . .

If you don’t spend all your time checking out these great blogs be sure to come back.  I have some ideas, and some blog changes, up my sleeve.  As a Superior Scribbler I will do my best to enlighten you.  Okay, maybe I can at least amuse you.  If not, too bad, I amuse myself.  And that’s enough for me.

3 Responses to “much ado”

  1. Thanks so much, chica! I’m honored and thrilled 🙂 xo

  2. And awesome congrats to you!!!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

