friday forum

First up…

GreenEnews_food_waste

Food Waste

Thankfully that is not a photo of my waste.  Being out of town did limit how much food was thrown away in the kitchen.  I won’t dwell on how much food gets thrown away while staying in hotels and eating a wedding reception buffet.

Unfortunately though, I am not completely without guilt.  Before we left I did toss a quarter of an apple that had been in the fridge for about a week waiting for Toddler L to find it.  He chose that week to stay out of the fridge.  I guess he does listen to me sometimes.  I did also toss about a quarter of a loaf of bread.  I had sliced it after making it, which I normally don’t do.  Seems that wasn’t a good idea as it was showing mold within days.  That was a bummer.  But my new philosophy is that each week starts anew.  I have a clean slate come Saturday and I will do with it the best I can.

felix

Now for something truly inspirational.  Amy Butler is an amazing designer and her newest venture is a beautiful line of rugs for Chandra.

How is this Compact?  It’s not.  Except that I’m not going to buy one, I don’t need a rug.  But that doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate their beauty.

Are they at least green?  Yes, and blue and red and brown.  Okay, okay, they are green by comparison.  Her rugs are 100% made from New Zealand wool and are semi-sustainable using no harsh chemical washes, the industry’s safest chrome dyes and natural latex adhesive.  The rugs are completely hand made, from the tufting to the sculpting.

So if they’re not used and not made from recycled materials why am I showing you?

Because they are beautiful.  And looking at them just makes my day brighter.  See for yourself.

ab1

ab2

ab3

ab4

ab5

ab6

ab8

ab9

Leave a Reply

