helpful tip #3

tips

I think the best thing I ever learned from my mother was how to boil rice like pasta.

Okay, maybe not the very best thing.  That might have had to do with mascara.  Or boys.  Or peanut butter and pickle sandwiches.  But this is a close second.

Apparently cooking rice like pasta is quite normal in Canada.  I don’t know how I missed it while growing up, but here in the States very few seem to be in on the secret.

Here’s the secret.

Put water in a pot.  Boil water.  Add parboiled rice.  Continue boiling until rice is tender.  Drain rice.  Eat.

No water to rice ratio.  No simmering.  No rice sticking to the bottom of the pan even though you followed the directions exactly.  I don’t know how it works with other types of rice but as for white rice, my life will never be the same again.

3 Responses to “helpful tip #3”

  1. I may actually cook rice now… someday. Once I figure out what the hell “parboiled” means.

  2. Emma, parboiled just means the rice has been partially cooked. It will say on the rice package if it is parboiled or not. I don’t know how boiling rice would work with non-parboiled rice. I guess I’ll have to try it some time.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

