not my fantasy

Sometimes I talk about food.  Sometimes I talk about being frugal.  Sometimes I talk about being environmentally aware or the Compact or even design issues.

This is about none of those things.  This is about sports.

The husband is a big sports guy.  And every year he partakes in the ritual known as fantasy football.  If you don’t have a husband or significant other that is so inclined you can stop reading now, this will all mean nothing.  (Unless you are the football person in the house, you may see some of the humor.)

In addition to being a fan of make-believe football teams the husband is a fan of the Sports Guy.  AKA Bill Simmons.  The Sports Guy writes for ESPN.  Sometimes his wife (AKA The Sports Gal) will say a few words in his articles.  I know this because the husband (my husband) will make me suggest I read an article sometimes.  I read.  And I enjoy.  Now mind you, I am not a sports gal myself.  At least I wasn’t when I wasn’t a missus.  Now a little bit has rubbed off.  Like knowing what fantasy football is.  But I digress.  Actually this whole post is a digression.  But who else am I going to tell about this stuff?

Back to my story.  The Sports Guy is also a fantasy football guy.  This year he went to Vegas for his fantasy draft.  (Lost yet?)  And he wrote about it for ESPN.  And I read it.  And I really enjoyed it.  So if you are into fantasy football, or know someone who is, I recommend you check out this story.  (It concludes here.)  You might also like it if you have been to or understand anything about Las Vegas.  Or are looking for some insight into a guys’ weekend.  Just be forewarned, you may need to ignore all of the name dropping sports references.  I didn’t know who any of those people were and I still enjoyed the piece.  (Another forewarning, he writes like a guy.  Just sayin’.)

I may be a kid-wrangling, environmentally-friendly, Compact living, designer gal but I can still enjoy a sports story now and then.  Maybe your life is just as diverse.  I share in the hopes that it is.

(And if anyone reads the article and laughs please come back and tell me.  I’d really like to know I’m not alone in this strange world.)

2 Comments to “not my fantasy”

  1. Great post. I enjoyed your entry. Though I don’t have a husband yet, I do have a boyfriend. He likes basketball more than me. Lol. Anyway, he zones out whenever he watches sports. And his escape from stress is a good game of basketball with his friends and officemates.

    You aren’t alone in this strange world. A lot of women experience the same things as you do. Not exactly the same, but you know. 🙂

  2. I don’t get the whole fantasy football thing…I have several really good girlfriends who are just as hard-core about fantasy football….I am happier with a good book, magazine or even a new J Crew catalog

Leave a Reply

