food waste

food-waste-disposal

Remember last week when I oh-so-confidently stated “I have none.” about food waste?

I lied.

It was a lie of omission of sorts.  Or a lie of poor housekeeping if you will.  Upon review of the refrigerator’s contents I can claim not 1, not 2, not even 3, but 4, yes 4 jars of food to be tossed away.

091008

Clockwise from the bottom right:

• about 1 tablespoon of pesto sauce – no excuse

• about 1 cup of sauerkraut – I don’t eat the stuff, apparently the husband doesn’t eat it fast enough

• about 1 cup of pasta sauce – no excuse

• a full jar (yup, completely full, never opened) of REAL Mayo – this one just makes me laugh, then cry, then laugh again.  I bought this jar of mayo before Toddler L was born.  (Toddler L just turned 2)  I was in the throws of “I’m cooking all the time now, I’m home every day, I’m sure I’ll need this for something right?”.  Wrong.  My family was not a mayonnaise family.  I don’t know how to use it.  Obviously.  The unopened jar is now months past it’s “best before” date.

I am well aware of the best by issues so I ask you – what can I do with an expired jar of REAL Mayo that I never intend to use?  Anyone live in the LA area that wants to pick it up?  I’ll leave it outside the front door starting Saturday morning with a “take me, please” sign.

Until the boys start eating me out of house and home I guess I’ll have to keep a better eye on the back of the fridge.  And make more pasta.  Gee, why didn’t I think of that last week?

Leave a Reply

